Big Bash League Winners List-BBL Champions

Spread the love

Here is Big Bash League Winners List and BBL Champions. Australia’s professional Twenty20 cricket league, the Big Bash League, was developed by Cricket Australia in 2011. Twenty20 Big Bash, which took place from 2005-6 to 2011-12, was replaced by the Big Bash Bash.

A round-robin format is followed by knockout matches in the tournament. Six cities are represented by eight teams in the League. In the inaugural Big Bash, Sydney Sixers defeated Perth Scorchers.

Below is a complete list of Big Bash winners from 2011-2022.


BBL Winners-Big Bash League Winners List From 2011 to Present

All Seasons Big Bash League Winners & Runners List since 2011 to 2021:

2020-21Sydney Sixers188/6Perth Scorchers161/9Sydney Sixers won by 27 runs
2019-20Sydney Sixers116/5Melbourne Stars97/6Sydney Sixers won by 19 runs
2018Melbourne Renegades145/5Melbourne Stars132/7Melbourne Renegades won by 13 runs
2017Adelaide Strikers202/2Hobart Hurricanes177/5Adelaide Strikers won by 25 runs
2016Perth Scorchers144/1Sydney Sixers141/9Perth Scorchers won by 9 wickets
2015Sydney Thunder181/7Melbourne Stars176/9Sydney Thunder won by 3 wickets
2014Perth Scorchers148/6Sydney Sixers147/5Perth Scorchers won by 4 wickets
2013Perth Scorchers191/4Hobart Hurricanes152/7Perth Scorchers won by 39 runs
2012Brisbane Heat167/5Perth Scorchers133/9Brisbane Heat won by 34 runs
2011Sydney Sixers158/3Perth Scorchers156/8Sydney Sixers won by 7 wickets

Hobart Hurricanes and Melbourne Stars are the only Big Bash League teams without a championship. Sydney Thunder lost to Perth Scorchers in 2013-14 and Adelaide Strikers in 2017-18, respectively. The Melbourne Stars placed second thrice in the Grand Final, in 2015-16, 2018-19, and again in 2019-20.

At least six of the eight teams in the league have won the Big Bash League. Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers are the premier teams in the league, winning the BBL title three times, two of them consecutively. The Perth Scorchers have appeared in the final the most, with a total of six times, of which four were consecutive, in the ten seasons of the league.

Player records and noteworthy performances

In just his second match, David Warner made a name for himself by scoring the first-ever BBL century. 

A packed MCG witnessed Warner’s unbeaten 102 that day. There have been 20 centuries in BBL history, with Craig Simmons being the only player to score two hundred points. The highest score ever achieved was 122 by D’Arcy Short.

BBL Records:

Highest score:Matthew Wade130*
Highest team score:Sydney Thunder5/232
Sixes in an innings:Gayle, Lynn & Simmons11
Most BBL hundreds:Finch, Simmons, Khawaja, Carey, Short, Wright2
Best bowling figures:Lasith Malinga7
Best innings strike rate:Dan Christian377.77 (34 from 9 balls)
Best innings economy rate:Mitchell Johnson0.75 (0 for 3 from 4 overs)

Most sixes in BBL history

In the history of the BBL, Chris Lynn is the only player to hit the most sixes. To date, Lynn has hit 172 sixes in 90 BBL matches. Comparatively, Glenn Maxwell is second on the list with 97 sixes. Chris Gayle is on top when it comes to sixes per game, having scored 51 sixes in 22 games. Alex Hales comes in second (70 from 47 matches).

Frequently Asked Questions

Which teams have won the big bash?

Tournament season and results

Three titles have been won by the Perth Scorchers and the Sydney Sixers. During the 2013–14, 2014–15, and 2016–17 seasons, the Scorchers won three titles. 2011-12, 2019-20, and 2020-21 are the seasons of the Sixers. Both of these teams have been champions in consecutive seasons.

Who is the most successful captain in Big Bash League?

During the nine seasons played, 49 players have captained their team at least once. The most matches Aaron Finch has played as a captain belongs to the Melbourne Renegades. He has won or lost 59 games for the team with a win-loss percentage of 47.45.

Is there any Indian player in BBL?

For the first time in the history of the KFC BBL, an Indian player has been secured by a club. Unmukt Chand was signed by the Melbourne Renegades for the 2011 BBL season. He became the first Indian to play in the Big Bash League.

Who won BBL 02?

Brisbane Heat

Brisbane Heat won their first Big Bash League title by defeating Perth Scorchers by 34 runs in the final.

Who has won the Big Bash finals?

Series results

Big Bash League (in Australia)2011/12Sixers
Big Bash League (in Australia)2012/13Heat
Big Bash League (in Australia)2013/14Scorchers
Big Bash League (in Australia)2014/15Scorchers
Big Bash League (in Australia)2015/16Thunder
Big Bash League (in Australia)2016/17Scorchers
Big Bash League (in Australia)2017/18Strikers
Big Bash League (in Australia)2018/19Renegades
Big Bash League (in Australia)2019/20Sixers
Big Bash League (in Australia)2020/21Sixers

Related: BBL Schedule 2021-2022 [CONFIRMED] | BBL 11 Fixtures PDF Download

Here was the Big Bash League Winners List and BBL Champions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *